February odds & ends

First off, I’d like to send a giant “get well soon!” to Tom Yamarone.  Yamarone is not only a great musician, but a wonderful friend and ambassador to the bigfoot world.  He is currently in rehabilitation, recovering from a stroke he suffered a couple of weeks ago.  He helped me out a ton when I was organizing Big Sky Bigfoot last year and honestly, getting to know him was one of the highlights of 2016 for me.  So I’d like to help give back.  Please visit the fundraising page that has been set up for Tom and his family, and consider making a contribution if you are at all able.  Every dollar helps!  Thank you!

A couple of recent news items have got me thinking about bigfoot in the Great Plains.  The Plains as sasquatch habitat is a subject that generates some debate, because, honestly, a lot of us don’t necessarily associate the cornfield flatlands of the midwest with large hairy hominids.

A few weeks ago, I discovered a news report detailing an alleged sasquatch sighting and trackway find in southeastern ND. (Be sure to click the arrow on the video to see a photo of one of the tracks.)

But later, in an anonymous letter mailed to the news station, a nameless person claims to have been behind it all. It was a prank, he or she writes, that (as we know pranks are prone to do) got a bit out of control.

The outdoorsman who found the tracks claims that not only did the line stretch on for miles in the snow, but also that it showed a four-foot step — both unlikely for what the reporter says was simply “a booze-fueled stroll on a pair of homemade Sasquatch slippers.”

The track photos, if indeed were found where they are claimed to have been found, don’t look like prosthetic big-feet marks to me.  On the other hand, who the heck writes an anonymous letter hoaxing a hoax?

As those of you who grew up playing Oregon Trail should know, the Great Plains once teemed with wildlife, including bison, wolves, and grizzly bears.  Why not bigfoot as well?  Of course, those days are far in the rearview mirror now, ever since the sodbusters brought “civilization” to the region.  The once-unbroken expanse of grassland has been replaced by miles of farm fields, arrow-straight blue highways, grange halls, and grain elevators.  But what remain are a handful of river & creek corridors lacing through the prairies that theoretically could offer migration routes for an elusive creature.

North Dakota isn’t the only plains state where bigfoot is reputed to walk.  Nebraska has a surprising amount of encounters (here’s one from a couple years ago), and the first Nebraska bigfoot conference took place this past weekend in Hastings, NE.  From the reports I’ve seen, it sounds like it was a great gathering, so bravo to the organizers.  I’m all for fledgling bigfoot conferences.  However, the proliferation of bigfoot meet-ups in recent years has drawn criticism.

Writes editor Daniel Perez in the January 2017 issue of Bigfoot Times, “My own opinion about Bigfoot conferences these days is a mixed bag.  They are great as a social mixer but for real content in the talks I have yet to see real detailed notes posted anywhere.  It just seems to me they are all about merchandise sales and you can just as well buy their products on line.”

Yes, I get Bigfoot Times and I don’t always agree with Perez, but it does offer a glimpse into some of the current goings-on in the bigfoot community (such as it is).  But I really beg to differ with his assessment here.  For one thing, many of the talks given at bigfoot conferences can be found on Facebook and Youtube if one takes the time to look.  Also, speaking as a conference organizer here, I am confident asserting that nobody’s getting wealthy off these things; if we sell a few products, it just goes to cover our costs. But most importantly — the “mixer” aspect is where  everything happens.  Sure, you can interact with fellow bigfooters (and trolls aplenty) on the web; but mingling face-to-face in a nonthreatening environment is where reports are exchanged, ideas are discussed, and friendships and research partnerships are formed.  They’re fun, sure, but also useful.  Maybe they won’t last forever, so let’s enjoy ’em while we got ’em.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “February odds & ends

  1. It’s tough to hear that a long time researcher is not doing well.. Thanks for posting about Tom. I hope he recovers soon. So many researchers these days have gleaned their knowledge via the internet and lack the “bush credit” if I may to represent true in the field experiences. I guess I’m of the old school “experience matters.”
    You only need to browse my website to know that Bigfoot is alive and still represented in the Midwest. I recently updated most of “The Nox Gigas Study” with some revelations from my ancestry findings. My Paternal haplo group is Viking..and the urge to explore is strong in me. Nebraska is not all flat and has significant biodiversity including relict glacial canyons of the Niobrara River.A low altitude mountain range of the Pine Ridge and the largest aquifer in the U.S that provides natural springs. The Platte River Riparian forest and the Missouri River habitat offer vast habitat for a Relict Hominoid. I like to keep this little secret to myself but I’m not too good at keeping secrets.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Richard — Yeah, Nebraska is more varied terrain-wise than most people probably realize. There are drainages all over the place. I found an interesting map here: http://snr.unl.edu/csd-esic/gisutmstp/images/native.jpg The only significant forested areas are along the rivers and creeks with some also in the uplands of the NW corner. This seems to match with the map of reports on the BFRO site (and also with your own experiences). From your research, is it your opinion that sas make long-term homes in NE or are they passing through seasonally, primarily using the waterways as migratory paths? (We might have to do a whole post on this sometime)

      Like

  2. I have a general theory that applies to the habitat of Sasquatch here in Nebraska and around the country as a whole. Karst habitat that have fresh water springs disperse minerals that attract a variety of prey. Also the fresh water springs The Riparian forest are integral to the Sasquatch as thorough- fares between and to these preferred habitats. I think by in large they have a relatively small range that they use seasonally for prey and available easy calories. Fresh water is the key and they will need to be close to these springs. Meat requires a lot of water to digest and a large Hominoid will require a lot of fresh water.
    On my website is a Karst Map and you can literally put a map of Bigfoot sightings Nationally over the Karst map and it becomes clear there are parallels. Your map of Nebraska is awesome I will use that on my website too. Maps are very useful tools when researching an area. Delorme state atlas maps are comprehensive and detailed with topographic and River detail valuable for any researcher. I highly recommend anyone looking into habitat get one of these atlas books for their state. Yes I have a lot to talk about regarding Nebraska but I thought this general topic might be more helpful. If you are curious I would be happy to detail Nebraska habitat. I may have been too broad in my explanations here.

    Like

    • I think that’s an interesting insight about minerals leaching from freshwater springs. Beyond just the prey angle, it would also be possible for the bfs to require certain minerals that may be found there. Reminds me of “Goat Lick” in Glacier NP.

      I am glad you can use that map — I thought it was cool too! There were other good maps on that UNL site; you might wanna check it out. I do remember seeing your karst map. So much to consider when evaluating habitat.

      Like

Leave a Reply

