Somewhere over yonder, or, where I stand

As your host here at Sasquatch and Friends, I anticipate at some point that I will be asked about my beliefs on the subject at hand. The following is an attempt to answer that question. It may or may not be perfectly coherent, but I’ll try.

Sasquatch:  Am I a believer?  Actually, I’m agnostic.  I really have no beliefs on the existence or non-existence of giant hairy apes in North America or elsewhere. This topic is no exception to my general approach to life. I’m agnostic about pretty much everything: feral Hawaiian pigs*, God or gods, Santa Claus, New York City**, 50-year-old Scotch – whatever it is, if I haven’t seen it myself, it may or may not exist, as far as I’m concerned.

Well, anyway. I have done a ton of reading and research on the subject of Sasquatch (or Bigfoot, if you prefer). After evaluating the available information, I’ve decided that there is nothing conclusive to either prove or disprove the existence of such an animal. And while I feel like I probably spend more time in the woods than your average American, I have never personally experienced anything that has led me to believe that Sas is out there.

All of this is not to say that I don’t believe in its possibility, and I enjoy reading about, thinking about, and discussing that possibility. I happily concede it seems somewhat unlikely.  But I know that plenty of perfectly “normal”, nice, well-rounded people HAVE experienced something weird that they cannot explain.  What’s behind all the reported encounters, thrown rocks, and tossed trees?

I don’t know, and that is my final answer.

* I did once see a feral Hawaiian pig, in Hawaii.  But up until that moment, despite being repeatedly warned of their presence, I was not convinced of their existence.  Or perhaps I was just being contrary.  That’s possible, too. 

** I honestly have never visited New York City.  In my childhood, I thought New York City was a locale invented by television people to be the setting for The Cosby Show.

One thought on “Somewhere over yonder, or, where I stand

  1. Pingback: More things in heaven and earth: Notes on bigfoot philosophy | Sasquatch and Friends

Leave a Reply

